Have You Been Charged with Abandonment and Neglect Of Children Under 273a a pc?
- July 6, 2020
- Jonathan Reza
- No comments
Abandonment and neglect of children in California are codified under 273a a pc. The law on abandonment and neglect of children under 273a a pc states that any person who produces great bodily harm or death can be put in the county jail for up to a year or in the state prison for two to six years.
You do not want a 273a a pc conviction on your record because it can have a serious effect on your life. You might not be able to rent an apartment, get a school loan, or get a job.
Most employers run background checks on prospective hires. If you have this type of conviction on your record, getting a good job becomes much harder. If you have been accused of abandonment and neglect of children under this law in California, it is important to contact child abandonment and neglect attorney Jonathan Reza at 877-717-2889.
Overview of Child Neglect PC in California
Penal Code 270 PC in California defense what child neglect is. State law states that a parent or legal guardian commits this crime if he or she willfully fails to provide the necessities of a minor child without a legal reason to do so. Necessities for children include food, water, clothing, medicine, and shelter.
Child neglect PC says that if a parent of a minor child omits without a lawful excuse, to provide necessary clothing, food, shelter or medical attendance, or other remedial care for his or her child, he or she is guilty of a misdemeanor.
Child Endangerment Examples
Some potential child endangerment examples in California include:
- A father fails to take his 10-year old son to the doctor when he has a high fever.
- A mother leaves her child in the car for six hours while she is at work or shopping.
- An adoptive parent does not provide winter clothes to her child when it is very cold outside.
- A mother does not provide proper nutrition to her eight-year-old even though she has the means to do so.
- A father leaves a 10-year old child at home all day without supervision.
If You Have Been Charged WithAbandonment and Neglect of Children, Call Jonathan Reza Today!
If you have been charged with endangering your child, a conviction can mean a year in county jail or up to six years in state prison. You also can get a minimum probation period of 48 months. A misdemeanor can become part of your permanent record, ruining your career, potentially. This is not the sort of conviction you want on your record, so it is important to hire the best criminal defense attorney you can.
If you are charged under 273a a pc, please call attorney Jonathan Reza today at 877-717-2889.