Were you recently arrested for your second DUI and want to know the consequences your 2nd DUI has on your Drivers License?
PLEASE NOTE: THIS DOES NOT APPLY IF YOU’RE CURRENTLY ON PROBATION FOR YOUR FIRST DUI Read Below for Information for people still on probation.
First, I will recommend to you to speak to a 2nd DUI attorney who can evaluate the circumstances regarding your DUI case to determine the exact length of drivers license suspension because this area of law is very very complicated and will depend greatly on the facts of your actual case as well as any deal an attorney is able to get for you in court.
This is likely why you can’t get a straight answer to your question of how long the suspension period actually is. That said, please read the following and click on the links to learn more about the suspension lengths for a second DUI arrest in California.
The length of your drivers license suspension for a 2nd DUI in California will depend on the circumstances surrounding your DUI arrest as well as if you hire an attorney to help negotiate your case.
For example, if a person was arrested in 2003 for a first DUI and arrested again in 2011 for a standard 2nd DUI, if the person’s attorney negotiates a deal in court, the client will be able to get his drivers license back after 90 days of no driving for a restricted license.
However, if that same person doesn’t hire an attorney and merely walks in to court and pleas guilty to 23152 (a) aka, DUI, that person will have to wait 1 year from the date of conviction to be eligible for a restricted license.
If your DUI is not a standard 2nd DUI, in meaning, if you are an alleged refusal or are on probation, the suspension lengths are will be different, but none less than 90 days.
If a certain plea is negotiated in court, you may be eligible for a restricted license after serving a mandatory 3 month hard suspension. Please realize that this restricted license is not automatically granted. An experienced DUI attorney must negotiate the plea in a very specific manner in order to be eligible for a restricted license.
If you have a commercial drivers license, a second DUI conviction is a life long disqualification of your commercial drivers license.
If your on probation for your prior DUI arrest and are convicted of a 2nd offense DUI, you are ineligible for a restricted drivers license and must serve out the full 1 year suspension.
However, if you beat your DMV hearing and are able to reduce the DUI charge in court, you will not be required to serve any suspension, but contacting DMV within 10 days of the DUI arrest is required.
If you would like more information about how your experienced DUI attorney can save your right to drive, call 877-717-2889 to speak to an experienced DUI attorney now....